Getting fair compensation for your damages after a car accident in Texas can already be difficult enough, even when the errant driver stops at the scene of the accident and gives you their information. But if you’ve been injured in a hit-and-run accident, getting compensation can be even more difficult. Learn how you should proceed in hit-and-run accidents and what steps you should take to secure compensation for your losses.
What is Shoot – How Many Crashes?
Drivers have an obligation to stop at the accident scene after the accident has occurred. According to Texas Transportation Code Section 550 , the driver involved in a car accident should stop as close as possible to the scene of the accident, see if anyone is injured, call for help if necessary, report the accident if there is injury or property damage, and talk to the other driver. should exchange information. Leaving the scene of the accident without fulfilling these obligations is defined as hit-and-run.
In a hit-and-run accident, the faulty driver flees the scene before giving his name or offering help to those injured in the accident. Hit-and-run accidents can be dangerous, especially for victims who are injured and/or vehicle damaged, as it takes time for someone else to locate the scene and seek help. Hit-and-run accidents can also make it harder for accident victims to get compensation; because they will not have the information of the defective driver so that they can create a claim with the relevant insurance company.
Penal Sanctions for Hit-and-run Accidents
It is against Texas law to cause a car accident and then leave the scene of the accident. If the police apprehend the accused and it is proven that the accused committed a hit-and-run action, there are severe criminal penalties. Leaving the scene of an accident in Texas can constitute a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the severity of the damage done. A person may face up to 10 years in state jail, fines of $500 to $5,000, license revocation, and other penalties for committing a hit-and-run action.
Legal Sanctions of Hit and Run Accidents
Leaving the scene of an accident in Texas has legal consequences as well as criminal penalties. Law enforcement refers to the outcome of a civil action brought by an injured victim against the faulty driver who caused the accident. Legal sanctions aim to restore the injured victim’s health through treatment and return the victim to their pre-accident condition. Within the framework of these legal sanctions, the perpetrator of the hit-and-run action may have to pay the victim’s medical bills, the wages lost due to the accident, vehicle damage, the inconvenience, pain and suffering and moral damages caused by the accident, and more. In many hit-and-run accidents, the defendant who committed the hit-and-run action, in addition, in order to punish the defendant for his gross negligence and to set an example,
Do’s and Don’ts in Shoot-How Many Accidents
As a victim of a hit-and-run accident in Texas, there are things you must do to get compensation for your damages. First, report a hit-and-run accident to the police immediately. From the scene of the accident, call 911. Tell them that the driver who caused the accident was hit and run. Stay where you are until paramedics and police officers arrive. When the police arrived, describe how the hit-and-run accident happened. Try to provide as much information as possible about the hit-and-run driver, such as the make and model of his vehicle, where he came from and where he went. If you have bodily injuries, seek medical help and keep your treatment reports and invoices. Make a claim under your uninsured / underinsured driver’s coverage by calling your own insurance company.
Shoot-and-run don’t leave the scene of the accident before you collect as much evidence as possible. For example, take pictures of your vehicle damage with your phone. These photographs taken are very important as they will constitute evidence of the accident. Research the area where the hit-and-run accident occurred. Check if there are cameras or traffic cameras belonging to one of the workplaces close to the place where the vehicle was left. If the area where the vehicle is parked is an area where people are concentrated and there are many workplaces, there may be someone or someone who witnessed the event. If you identify witnesses, get their contact information.
Remember; Any information you collect can help police identify the hit-and-run driver. In addition, the information you collect will assist you in making your claim with the insurance company. Don’t accept mistakes or faults for a hit-and-run accident while talking on the phone with a representative of your own insurance company. Do not answer any questions about your wounds until you see a doctor. Do not accept the deal the insurance company will offer you without speaking to a lawyer.
Most importantly, don’t try to handle a hit-and-run accident alone if you have serious injuries. Consult a car accident lawyer Tucson to get the maximum benefit from negotiations with your insurance company about compensation . If you have uninsured or insufficiently insured driver coverage, this coverage can compensate for your losses resulting from a hit-and-run accident. If you do not have such a guarantee, your lawyer should explore other alternatives for compensation for your losses. An experienced accident attorney will guide you through what to do and what not to do in a hit-and-run accident in Texas.